Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 128GB in the new Mac Pro  (Read 3465 times)
jduncan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296


« on: March 14, 2014, 07:22:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

It seems that we have announcement of 32GB  modules for the nMP:

http://www.transcend-info.com/Press/index.asp?LangNo=0&axn=Detail&PrsNo=10559

When the machine was introduced some people were sure that the limit of the machine was 64GB. I was surprised since I could not find base for that statement on the documentation.
 
Some people affirmed that it was a limit on the motherboard.

I was not sure. Now it seems that the limit is not there.  It will have been better for the machine to have dual processors and 8 memory slots but probably the market was not lucrative enough for Apple (the price will be far higher and the box bigger).  Now the memory is slower it could be due to chip density, or thermal reasons(1).

I hope that this materialize for people that need more than 64GB of RAM.

People are changing the processors as stated in other fora here at LuLa:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tSAjk2xpIl4

Best regards,
J. Duncan

-----------
(1) They have two ways of building  more denser memory modules, they can use more chips (and draw more current) or they can use newer more dense chips (and have price affected).  I am not positive about the road taken by Transcend .

Logged

english is not my first language, an I know is shows
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3533



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 08:45:46 PM »
ReplyReply

You can actually fit more ram in most Macs that Apple claim. Naturally my particular MaPro model not only has always had ridiculously expensive ram compared to other Macs, but is about the only one that can't go beyond the stated limit.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2014, 08:49:36 PM by jjj » Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8188



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2014, 03:23:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Any info about pricing for the 128GB kit?

I am a bit surprised OWC wasn't the first one to propose it, but they cannot be far behind.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
jduncan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 296


« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2014, 08:43:37 AM »
ReplyReply

Any info about pricing for the 128GB kit?

I am a bit surprised OWC wasn't the first one to propose it, but they cannot be far behind.

Cheers,
Bernard

Hi Bernard,

No idea, the press release omits some key information.

  In general I want to underscore that this modules are slower that the standard nMP modules. The microprocessor accepts multiple memory types so not a compatibility issue. . As I explain in my note I am not sure why. I believe that for most photographers, at this moment, 32GB of RAM will do.

If we want to speculate it could be that OWC is waiting for the  1866mhz parts?
But my guess is as good as anybody's

Best regards,
J. Duncan
Logged

english is not my first language, an I know is shows
kers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 770


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2014, 09:47:49 AM »
ReplyReply

According to Intels specs 256 GB RAM is the limit at least for some of the Xeon processors like the 3.5 GHZ 6 core..
Logged

Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8188



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2014, 08:54:26 PM »
ReplyReply

It didn't take very long for OWC to react:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/1333D3Z3M128/

Price for 128GB is 2,129 US$, they are 1333Mhz. Ships in 9 days.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Lightsmith
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 111


« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2014, 06:41:01 PM »
ReplyReply

I was sorry to see Apple move away from a box that holds multiple hard drives for an internal RAID1 array. Thunderbolt is fine if you only have one computer and one external NAS box but it sucks for a network environment. The original Mac which I owned was also network challenged thanks to Apple's Appletalk kludge.

The Mac OS is great but my options are limited too much by the Apple computer designs. I put more emphasis on function than form for a computer.
Logged
Ellis Vener
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1813



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2014, 07:58:31 PM »
ReplyReply

You can actually fit more ram in most Macs that Apple claim. Naturally my particular MaPro model not only has always had ridiculously expensive ram compared to other Macs, but is about the only one that can't go beyond the stated limit.

Thanks jjj! I was happy to learn I can take my Oct. '09 i5 iMac up from 16GB ( 4 x 4GB) to 32GB (4x8GB) RAM. I'd already installed an SSD in place of the optical drive and just replaced the original 1TB HDD with a 3TB WD Black.  Now if I only I could replace the mother board with a faster one with Thunderbolt and USB 3.0 connections...
Logged

Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3533



WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2014, 08:42:04 PM »
ReplyReply

Glad you can do it Ellis. Though realised I mixed up my Macs in that comment. My MBP can't go higher than stated, but my MP can. Except it would cost about the same as buying the current top MBP, which is way faster anyway.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad