Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: PS panels - CS6 - 2 screens set up OX10.9.2  (Read 1524 times)
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7890



WWW
« on: March 19, 2014, 08:18:03 PM »
ReplyReply

Team,

Since I upgraded to the new Mac Pro, OSX 10.9.2 with a 2x30 inch screen set up, I am experiencing an annoying issue. The PS CS6 panels (history, layers, info, actions,...) that I carefully located on my second screen keep coming back to the main screen each time my Mac comes back our of sleep.

I did save the correct layout as a workplace in CS6, but this doesn't change anything. Strangely, it doesn't happen for all the panels, only 2 of them...

Any idea how to prevent this?

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5469


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 11:47:26 PM »
ReplyReply

Happens to me if the panels are on a display that is not the "main display". Save a workspace and after wakening, select Window>Workspace>Reset "workspace". I created an action with an Insert Menu Item and assigned an F key...mine is set to F15. Nothing I've ever found to keep it from happening has worked since 10.6.8.
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7890



WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2014, 04:08:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Happens to me if the panels are on a display that is not the "main display". Save a workspace and after wakening, select Window>Workspace>Reset "workspace". I created an action with an Insert Menu Item and assigned an F key...mine is set to F15. Nothing I've ever found to keep it from happening has worked since 10.6.8.

Thanks Jeff. Yes, I am coming from 10.6.8 and did not have the problem.

I am vaguely hoping that the multi-display improvements planned in 10.9.3 may resolve this, but the workaround you are proposing seems pretty effective.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
kirkt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 172


« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2014, 02:10:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Maybe try unchecking the "Group windows with application" or "Displays have separate spaces" checkboxes in the "Mission Control" area of the System Preferences.  See if that makes the problem go away.  If you uncheck the "Displays have separate spaces" box, your main display only will have the menu bar as previously, but this will not be changed until you log out and log back in.

I'm just guessing.

kirk

Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2014, 03:21:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Kirk - it may not be a Mavericks issue as I have had the same or similar issue in Mountain Lion since I upgraded my graphics card [to an Apple one] in my MacPro. It takes ages for the screens to get their act together and then when it finishes turning on and off, all windows from all programmes  are on my left monitor, which is where I have menu bar. I can't recall if it happens when I'm I booted up into my Mavericks setup as I've not committed to Mavericks yet and due to this glitch when I wake up machine I usually do something else whilst if faffs about getting its act together.
[I don't tend to commit a new Mac OS for work until update 3 or 4. Too many bugs otherwise].

The multi-monitor improvements in Mavericks over previous versions are OSX swapped a crappy system for a differently crappy system. I could do better multi-monitor setups in Windows 15 years ago, so I hope the latest update helps to make amends.
A few times I've 'lost' programmes in OSX as when you Cmd+Tab between them they vanish if in full screen mode and can only be seen again if you use Exposé

At least your second monitor is actually working as that appears to be a 10.9.2 glitch.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2014, 03:23:42 PM by jjj » Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7890



WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2014, 12:59:12 AM »
ReplyReply

I have deployed the workaround proposed by Jeff, it works fine. I didn't even have to read the manual, took 2-3 minutes to do.

Thanks again.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5469


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2014, 01:01:56 AM »
ReplyReply

Glad that works for you...takes a pain in the ass into being a mild irritation...(still would like Apple to fix it though) and the advice on the System Prefs didn't work for me (running 10.7.5).
Logged
jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3365



WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2014, 09:36:13 AM »
ReplyReply

I also do the same thing as Jeff does with PS as I have several personalised workspaces, but I use lots of programmes with two monitors which don't have PS's abilities. Sad
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad