Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR5 Update Question  (Read 1873 times)
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« on: March 26, 2014, 09:51:48 AM »
ReplyReply

I have the Nikon D4s and Fuji X-T1, both are not supported by LR5 v5.3.  Currently I'm processing by shooting jpg, or converting raw files to dng's, or using PS CC. Curious whether LR5 v5.3 be updated to v5.4, or is LR6 around the corner and future LR5 updates will not be forth coming?  This has been speculated on some other sites.
Logged
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9191



WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 01:09:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Be patient, that's all I'll say  Grin

It's the price we pay buying new cameras who's native raw formats are really no different from the last, but built on purpose to be so. As such, you play the waiting game.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 01:30:01 PM »
ReplyReply

The patience of Job.
Logged
One Frame at a Time
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 169


« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2014, 12:13:49 AM »
ReplyReply

Be patient, that's all I'll say  Grin

It's the price we pay buying new cameras who's native raw formats are really no different from the last, but built on purpose to be so. As such, you play the waiting game.

Is there some reason the update to LR is lagging behind DNG and Bridge when it comes to recognizing XT1 files??  It's terribly frustrating and feels like an imposition on Lightroom users.

Add to this - that there is a simple third party hack floating around, that apparently fools LR into thinking XT1 files are XE2 files.
Why is Adobe forcing us to adopt hacks -especially when their other RAW engines were updated a while back???
Logged
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 520


WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2014, 12:35:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Is there some reason the update to LR is lagging behind DNG and Bridge when it comes to recognizing XT1 files??  It's terribly frustrating and feels like an imposition on Lightroom users.

Add to this - that there is a simple third party hack floating around, that apparently fools LR into thinking XT1 files are XE2 files.
Why is Adobe forcing us to adopt hacks -especially when their other RAW engines were updated a while back???

You should be asking your camera manufacturer why they are forcing you to adopt a hack.  Adobe did not change the raw file that the camera produces....Adobe did not change Lightroom to where it would not work any longer....the camera manufacturers are the ones that make the changes that are sometimes only a change in the camera model number in the raw file info.  Camera manufacturers are the ones that refuse to use an open source raw format.  They are forcing everyone to wait....not Adobe.
Logged

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2014, 01:54:18 AM »
ReplyReply

Is there some reason the update to LR is lagging behind DNG and Bridge when it comes to recognizing XT1 files??

Why, yes...there is...are you personally entitled to the answer?

Well, no...use the DNG Converter 8.4RC until LR 5.4 catches up.

That's the best answer...and if you are foolish enough to use a hack, good luck with that (and don't mention it when asking for help in the future). "Hacks" are not really a useful alternative...
Logged
ario
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124


« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2014, 02:23:29 AM »
ReplyReply

Hacking (just changing the camera model) a copy of the raw file is not particularly harmful. Converting to DNG is a viable alternative only if one wants to use Adobe products. Capture One and and Aperture, just to make some example are not very friendly with converted DNG files.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2014, 02:25:17 AM by ario » Logged
jedbest
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 352


« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2014, 07:17:18 AM »
ReplyReply

The latest DNG rc converter does in fact,  using Nikon D4S files, create a DNG file that C1 recognizes.
Logged
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2832



WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2014, 12:10:02 PM »
ReplyReply

C1 always does a poor job of processing DNGs, Aperture handles them well, but these apps are irrelevant here - the OP wants to use Adobe products and that's possible by using DNGs.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2014, 12:11:47 PM by john beardsworth » Logged

jedbest
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 352


« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2014, 06:52:38 PM »
ReplyReply

John is far more knowledgeable than I on C1 and DNG. I do know that DXO now supports Nikon D4S and if you are on a Ma, so does Iridient Developer, an app that Andrew Rodney likes.
Logged
One Frame at a Time
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 169


« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2014, 08:36:52 PM »
ReplyReply

Jeff, no disrespect was intended in my post.  You, Michael and a host of others here have assisted my photography efforts the past decade(?) to no end. 
I cannot express to you how appreciative I am that this site, the forum, and you guys are here.

Before I picked up with Fujifilm I owned several Sony NEX cameras as they were released.  I may be wrong, but I cannot remember waiting too long for Adobe to have a RC released for LR.
DNG, PhotoShop and LR (via the XE-2 engine), all currently work on the XT1. Adobe does owe us collectively (not me personally) an explanation for the delay,
or at least some idea when we can expect it?

For the record: I'm working with DNG and its caused me to waste tons of time altering my workflow. Because I'm dumb - doing double conversions, trying to get things sorted
and for an encore - deleting the original RAWs permanently - thinking the DNG was as good as the original if lossy was not selected. 
For now, I have not altered 5.3.  My stupidity does know some bounds... I'm aware of the risks of installing workarounds, as they may do much more than they represent.

I can appreciate the burden that these proprietary RAW schemes place on Adobe (made a sympathetic comment in the fuji forum a while ago) and wish that there was some unified standard that all camera mfrs would adopt.  It would help us all to no end.  But having some products working and others not isn't cool.
 
Logged
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5500


WWW
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2014, 11:26:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Adobe does owe us collectively (not me personally) an explanation for the delay, or at least some idea when we can expect it?

No, actually, they don't. Just be clear, Adobe is under no obligations to do public betas (nor explain why one product is and another one isn't released). Adobe doesn't talk about unreleased products so they are not going to talk about an unreleased LR 5.4RC. The fact that at this time there is no LR RC 5.4 simply means it's not ready in the same time frame that ACR 8.4 was.

I suspect ACR 8.4 and KR 5.4 will end up being released as GM the same time, but then again, it might not.

LR 5.4 will come when Adobe is ready...their only commitment is to release 3-4 updates for new cameras and bug fixes. I think you need to manage your expectations, ya know?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad