Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Strange CC Bridge behavior win7 64 Bit  (Read 814 times)
Paul2660
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710


WWW
« on: March 28, 2014, 11:43:26 AM »
ReplyReply

Recently I upgraded my laptop win7 64 bit to CC (photographers version of CC and bridge as LR was already installed)

I was a bit confused that now bridge shows up as a separate program, but went ahead and installed both.  On this machine I still have CS3 and CS5 64 bit extended.

Both CC and CC bridge loaded fine, no errors. and I was using CC with no problems until today.  I attempted to open bridge first to load a series of images into Photoshop layers.  When I clicked on bridge, nothing happened, and checking task manage, the "app" was not there, but the "process" was. 

I then launched CC and tried to get into bridge and again no browser window for bridge. 

So I uninstalled CC bridge, just to see if CC would still work using the file drop down.  From the file menu on CC, browse in bridge, I got a bridge browser winder, images all were there and I could select them, however on further checking, it was the CS5 bridge interface.  I guess this makes sense as I uninstalled CC bridge.  The image of course would not load into CC, but when I reopened CS6 extended they did. 

I am in the process of redownloading CC bridge, but was curious if anyone else had run into this issue where the CC bridge will not work, either from the program icon or from within CC.

Thanks
Paul
Logged

Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
Photography > http://photosofarkansas.com
Blog> http://paulcaldwellphotography.com
Paul2660
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2014, 12:39:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Fix was to totally back the PC to an earlier install point,  then reinstall both CC and Bridge CC. Seems to be working now.

Paul
Logged

Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
Photography > http://photosofarkansas.com
Blog> http://paulcaldwellphotography.com
BobShomler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2014, 09:31:21 AM »
ReplyReply

You describe seeing Bridge process active in process list but not in application list (in task manager).  It could indicate that Bridge did not completely terminate.  I've seen instances of this in CS5 and 6, where ending the process via task manager cleared the problem; Bridge then could be launched and run.  Perhaps something to try if you experience the problem again.
Logged
Paul2660
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1710


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2014, 05:42:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Bob. Thanks. Definitely something to remember for the future.

Paul
Logged

Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
Photography > http://photosofarkansas.com
Blog> http://paulcaldwellphotography.com
Redcrown
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 133


« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2014, 07:14:52 PM »
ReplyReply

What you described is not that uncommon.

When Bridge is generating thumbnails for a folder of images, it can take a while. Especially if there is a large number of images. If you close Bridge while it is doing that, it will remain as a "process" in Task Manager, even though the "Application" disappears.

Bridge process will contine crunching away on thumnails for a while. If you try to re-launch Bridge while it is doing that, nothing will happen. No new Bridge window will appear.

Sometimes Bridge will finally terminate before all thumbs are generated, sometimes not. On my system, it will stay resident for 10 to 30 seconds, then terminate before it finishes all thumbs. I don't know why.

Combine this "feature" with a bug that bothers some people, but not all. The bug is that Bridge continually regenerates thumbnails on some images in some folders. Key word there is "some". Does not happen to everybody. Does not happen on all folders. Does not happen on all images.

That bug is discussed at great length in the Adobe Bridge forum, with no hope for a fix in sight because Adobe says they can't replicate it.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad