Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: C1 Pro graphic acceleration freezing new Mac Pro D700  (Read 5465 times)
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« on: March 29, 2014, 04:51:35 PM »
ReplyReply

For those using C1 Pro 7.2 on the new Mac Pro equipped with D700 GPUs, it is not a good idea to activate graphic acceleration.

It is much faster when it works, but I did experience 2 full freeze of OSX last night.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5489


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2014, 09:55:29 PM »
ReplyReply

Be sure to report it to C1 Support!
Logged
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2014, 02:34:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Were you running OSX 10.9.3 pre-release or 10.9.2?
-Lionel
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2014, 04:07:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Were you running OSX 10.9.3 pre-release or 10.9.2?
-Lionel

10.9.2

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2014, 08:55:59 AM »
ReplyReply

Just tried 7.2.1, the complete freeze of OSX seems to be fixed, but there are still problems when using GPU acceleration.

I guess I may need to wait till apple/amd fix the D700 graphic drivers...

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
JB Rasor
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 73



WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2014, 03:10:07 AM »
ReplyReply

The crash has actually been very widespread for Mac Pro owners with D700 cards. It freezes the machine with Premiere Pro, Resolve and several other programs. I know this isn't a C1 oriented point, but it frustrates me that Apple has remained relatively silent on this issue. I've now got an $8k machine that can surf the net! Sad
Logged
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2014, 01:29:45 PM »
ReplyReply

I can only re-iterate. Please turn of OpenCL when you have a D700 equipped machine in os 10.9.2, 10.9.3 and 10.9.4 :-(

We are anxiously waiting for a fix from Apple. Fortunately D500 and D300 machines are OK.
Also iMacs with the NVidia and Macbook Pros are fine with all the versions above.

-Lionel

 
Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2014, 06:05:17 PM »
ReplyReply

I can only re-iterate. Please turn of OpenCL when you have a D700 equipped machine in os 10.9.2, 10.9.3 and 10.9.4 :-(

We are anxiously waiting for a fix from Apple. Fortunately D500 and D300 machines are OK.
Also iMacs with the NVidia and Macbook Pros are fine with all the versions above.

Merci Lionel.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2014, 01:41:32 AM »
ReplyReply

Yeah! Seems like Apple finally fixed OpenCL for D500 and D700 equipped Mac Pro 2013 in the latest seed of 10.9.4... Try it out
-Lionel
« Last Edit: July 08, 2014, 02:47:51 PM by lkuhlmann » Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2014, 04:03:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Yeah! Seems like Apple finally fixed OpenCL for D500 and D700 equipted Mac PÅro 2013 in the latest seed of 10.9.4... Try it out

Noooooooooo?

Regards,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
lkuhlmann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 29


« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2014, 08:52:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes.
Finally Apple released a 10.9.4 version where the OpenCL (GPU) driver is fully working, and complies with the use of OpenCL. We have verified Capture One 7.2.2 will work correctly using 10.9.4 (Build 13E25 (Pre-Release))

Due to the wrong drivers you will have to manually delete all files in this directory before OpenCL will get used:
/Users/Shared/Capture One/ImageCore

Get ready to utilize the power of D700 AMD GPU card for Capture One

-Lionel
Logged
ErikKaffehr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7487


WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2014, 09:49:35 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi,

Thanks for good info!

Best regards
Erik


§Yes.
Finally Apple released a 10.9.4 version where the OpenCL (GPU) driver is fully working, and complies with the use of OpenCL. We have verified Capture One 7.2.2 will work correctly using 10.9.4 (Build 13E25 (Pre-Release))

Due to the wrong drivers you will have to manually delete all files in this directory before OpenCL will get used:
/Users/Shared/Capture One/ImageCore

Get ready to utilize the power of D700 AMD GPU card for Capture One

-Lionel
Logged

BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2014, 03:34:41 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes.
Finally Apple released a 10.9.4 version where the OpenCL (GPU) driver is fully working, and complies with the use of OpenCL. We have verified Capture One 7.2.2 will work correctly using 10.9.4 (Build 13E25 (Pre-Release))

Due to the wrong drivers you will have to manually delete all files in this directory before OpenCL will get used:
/Users/Shared/Capture One/ImageCore

Get ready to utilize the power of D700 AMD GPU card for Capture One

Thanks for the info!

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2014, 07:33:09 PM »
ReplyReply

Hello Lionel,

Just did a quick test, it seems stable indeed with 10.9.4.

I just did a single test and the results may therefore not be fully representative, but conversion of 66 D800 raw files with previews already generated was completed in 2:40 minutes with OpenCL activated (Auto mode).

The same task without OpenCL (never mode) took 6:20 minutes, so more than twice longer.

This is done on an 8 core machine with 64GB RAM.

This is great! Hope you guys can quickly enable the full usage of the 2 GPUs, that would be even better!

Thanks.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
george2787
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2014, 10:54:57 AM »
ReplyReply

I don't know how many adjustments you had on those images but 2.6 seconds per image seems way to much for that machine Bernard... I'm on a 2010 imac with a laptop graphics card and the 5d II-III images come out at about 2 seconds, and thats to 16 bit PSD writing to a SATA 2 SSD.

In macperformance Lloyd had this results converting to Jpeg:


Logged
BernardLanguillier
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 8070



WWW
« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2014, 05:45:09 PM »
ReplyReply

I don't know how many adjustments you had on those images but 2.6 seconds per image seems way to much for that machine Bernard... I'm on a 2010 imac with a laptop graphics card and the 5d II-III images come out at about 2 seconds, and thats to 16 bit PSD writing to a SATA 2 SSD.

Thanks for pointing this out.

However there are several reasons that could explain the difference:
- the C1 corrections being applied,
- the disk speed
- ...

The purpose of the test was to compare GPU benefits in my environment for the corrections I typically apply to ky images in C1 Pro.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged

A few images online here!
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad