Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Drag and drop into quick collection  (Read 1240 times)
Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2808



WWW
« on: April 11, 2014, 11:01:58 PM »
ReplyReply

I havenít used quick collection feature much (if at all), but today I had a pretty good use for it as I was consolidating and organizing keyword tags.  I tried to drag and drop some images into the quick collection, and it doesnít work.  I watched some online videos that all talk about adding files to the quick collection, but all of them discuss using the ďbĒ key or clicking the target selection circle as though that was a feature of the quick collection, which it really isnít.

The only way I found to add images to a quick collection was to first make it the target collection and add via the b key or the circle icon.  I am using the target collection function on another collection simultaneously and my work around was to switch my logic and drag and drop to that collection, using the target collection function on the quick collection.

So no real issue, but the inability to drag and drop to the quick collection seems very strange.  Am I missing something?  Is this really working as intended?  Checking on my buddies LR and it operates the same way, so seems to be how it is, not a problem with my install.
Logged

Schewe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5417


WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2014, 11:20:07 PM »
ReplyReply

I rarely use Quick Collection and tend toward making a temp regular collection (using VC's) then dumping when the need is over. QC is an option, but somewhat limited. I wouldn't want it to go away, but just cause you CAN do something doesn't mean you must.
Logged
Rhossydd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1888


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2014, 12:17:35 AM »
ReplyReply

No problems here with dragging images to the quick collection in library mode. Singles or multiples.

LR 5.4 on W7 64
Logged
wolfnowl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5698



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2014, 12:30:28 AM »
ReplyReply

Just tried it for you, Wayne - Windows 8.1 64-bit, LR 5.4

With QC set as Target I dragged and dropped an image in there with no problem. Created a blank collection and set it as the target collection, dropped on image in there, then shift-selected three others and dropped them into the QC. No problems.

Not sure what to tell you!

Mike.
Logged

If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~


My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings
Remo Nonaz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 245


WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2014, 06:30:31 AM »
ReplyReply

Wayne - funny timing. Two days ago I upgraded to Lr 5.4 and last night I tried to do exactly what you described. I couldn't move some images to QC and couldn't figure it out right away. Then I 'discovered' the 'set as target collection' command and set QC to it. Then the move worked. However, I've never, ever, used the 'set as target collection' command before and I've used the QC frequently.

So, I assume this is change in the software brought on with release 5.4. I would prefer that QC was its own special file and required no specific designation-to. Otherwise, what is the point?
Logged

I really enjoy using old primes on my m4/3 camera. There's something about having to choose your aperture and actually focusing your camera that makes it so much more like... like... PHOTOGRAPHY!
john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2651



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2014, 07:50:33 AM »
ReplyReply

Something seems odd. It looks more like a bug than a design change.

In 5.4 on Win 7/64 I couldn't initially drag to the QC, but could do after restarting LR. I then set another collection to be the target collection, and found I could no longer drag items to the QC.

Going back to 4.4, setting the target collection made no difference - in all cases I was able to drag to the QC.

John
Logged

Chris Kern
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 123


« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2014, 04:10:58 PM »
ReplyReply

I havenít used quick collection feature much (if at all), but today I had a pretty good use for it as I was consolidating and organizing keyword tags.

Great idea; thanks for the tip.  I'm in the process of harmonizing tags across a large number of files that antedated my current keywording scheme, and that sounds like an efficient way to do it.
Logged
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2014, 01:53:55 AM »
ReplyReply

I use QC every now and then;however, I never drag and drop.  I highlight the images and press "B" tot put the selected images into the QC.  This method is much quicker to me.
Logged
Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2808



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2014, 02:14:48 AM »
ReplyReply

I use QC every now and then;however, I never drag and drop.  I highlight the images and press "B" tot put the selected images into the QC.  This method is much quicker to me.
The B key isnít a quick collection shortcut, itís the target selection shortcut.  I prefer to have my target collection set to another collection, because quick collection is always at the top and so itís very easy to drag images into it.  Something seems odd, because there really isnít any reason you shouldnít be able to work with a quick collection just like any other ďdumbĒ collection ... either set as target or drag and drop. As others have mentioned, maybe something has happened with 5.4 ... IĒm pretty sure Iíve been able to drag &drop into it in the past.
Logged

john beardsworth
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2651



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2014, 02:23:25 AM »
ReplyReply

Wayne, see my post - I tested in 4.4 and it was perfectly possible. It's a bug.
Logged

KSonde
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2014, 02:05:07 PM »
ReplyReply

Wayne,

Are you dragging on the actual image or the border? Only works for me when clicking the image. (LR 5.4)

Kurt
Logged
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2014, 02:25:45 PM »
ReplyReply

The B key isnít a quick collection shortcut, itís the target selection shortcut.  I prefer to have my target collection set to another collection, because quick collection is always at the top and so itís very easy to drag images into it.  Something seems odd, because there really isnít any reason you shouldnít be able to work with a quick collection just like any other ďdumbĒ collection ... either set as target or drag and drop. As others have mentioned, maybe something has happened with 5.4 ... IĒm pretty sure Iíve been able to drag &drop into it in the past.


Sorry, I didn't recall that you set the "B" to another collection.  I've tried drag-and-drop on both MBP and MP without any issues, regardless which collection is set as the target.  Either you have a bug or your not grabbing the files correctly (which I doubt).   Have you considered re-installing LR?  
Logged
Bryan Conner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 514


WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2014, 11:50:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I am using LR 5.4 on a Windows 7 64bit computer and I have no problem in dragging selected images into either a normal collection or into a Quick Collection.  As someone mentioned before, you have to click in the image thumbnail and not the thumbnail border to drag and drop.
Logged

Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2808



WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2014, 12:27:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, Iím fully aware you have to click on the image to drag it. Behavior is the same on 3 different macs.  I think those suspecting a bug may be right.
Logged

Wayne Fox
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2808



WWW
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2014, 12:36:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Posted this over on the Adobe Lightroom forum and indeed it appears to be an issue related to LR mobile.

If I sign out of LR mobile, dragging into the quick collection works fine.  As soon as I sign into LR mobile, the only way to add images to a quick collection is setting it to target collection and use B or click the button on the image.


Logged

James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2014, 08:50:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Wayne,

That is interesting, good find.  I'll wait to give the mobile a try.

Thanks

Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad