Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Printing target patch on IPF6300  (Read 1999 times)
Trinity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



WWW
« on: April 25, 2014, 03:15:00 PM »
ReplyReply

This'll be easy for someone. As a Lightroom 5 user I want to do my own printing on an IPF6300. I want to obtain some custom ICC profiles and have downloaded an ACPU file and have managed to get a tiff target  patch  ready to print. I believe I have to go into the printer driver first and switch off the colour management and then print - but,  how do you do that please.
Let me know if it's all wrong by the way.

Thanks.
Logged

Keith Gilson
ww.trinityframing.co.uk
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2014, 03:53:42 PM »
ReplyReply

Correct, you want popup menu (Output profile) to show" None (No Color Correction).
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2014, 04:04:55 PM »
ReplyReply

I want to obtain some custom ICC profiles and have downloaded an ACPU file and have managed to get a tiff target  patch  ready to print.

Canon's driver is incompatible with ACPU so you won't be able to select "No Color Management" without Doyle's XML driver hack. You can download his XML file and read me here: http://www.dypinc.com/Canon/AppColorMatchingInfo.xml.zip Don't get me starting on Canon's dumb use of special casing....

Otherwise, Canon's Photoshop Printing Plug-in is THE way to print profiling targets on those pritners. Works with any version of Photoshop and it's super easy and reliable. Download the plug-in from Canon's site and choose "None" for the output profile when printing. 
Logged

Trinity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2014, 05:07:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry but I'm a bit dim on this - the two answers to date seem to contradict each other. Is it possible to just do me an idiots set of instructions if your view prevails digitaldog.
I have Lightroom 5, and I'm sure people send of for custom profiles when using LR - don't they?
Logged

Keith Gilson
ww.trinityframing.co.uk
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2014, 05:34:19 PM »
ReplyReply

Sorry but I'm a bit dim on this - the two answers to date seem to contradict each other. Is it possible to just do me an idiots set of instructions if your view prevails digitaldog.
I have Lightroom 5, and I'm sure people send of for custom profiles when using LR - don't they?
AFAIK, if you're printing from LR, you can't use the Photoshop plug-in. So use ACPU and the 'standard' Canon print driver.
AFAIK, once the profile is built, you can use it in Photoshop and LR etc. It's been years since I had a Canon in the office (IPF5000) but I seem to recall a profile built with the plug-in can be used in the driver and vise versa. That may have changed, I may have this memory wrong and Scott will correct me. But bottom line is, for LR, you'll use the standard driver not the plug-in of course so just print the target with that driver using ACPU.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2014, 05:35:48 PM »
ReplyReply

Is it possible to just do me an idiots set of instructions if your view prevails digitaldog.
http://digitaldog.net/files/DDPrintingTargetsVideo.mov
And why isn't the service providing you the profile sending you instructions?  Huh
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Trinity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2014, 11:03:36 PM »
ReplyReply

They will on Monday. but it was Friday night, today's Saturday, thanks for the help it's much appreciated.
Logged

Keith Gilson
ww.trinityframing.co.uk
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2014, 04:09:02 PM »
ReplyReply

AFAIK, if you're printing from LR, you can't use the Photoshop plug-in.

Right, the Photoshop Printing Plug-in only works for Photoshop.

So use ACPU and the 'standard' Canon print driver.

Can't do that. The printer driver is incompatible with ACPU. You can't select "No Color Management" under color mode when in ACPU. Canon makes use of 'special casing' and only allows "No Color Management" to show up in apps that are specifically named in a  certain XML file that's installed with the driver.
 
Now, you might be thinking "That's the dumbest thing I've ever heard of" and you would be correct! But that's what they do and Doyle was brilliant in discovering this and he has given us an updated XML files with a bunch of additional apps named so that we can print with the No Color Management option. Everytime a new version of Lightroom or Photoshop comes out we have to update this darn XML file.

Anyway that's the deal. Out of the box, the printer driver isn't compatible with the ACPU so you can't print your targets through it unless you perform the aforementioned hack. Those that have Photoshop should simply install the wonderful Canon iPF PS Print Plug-in and print the target that way. That's THE longtime preferred way of printing targets on iPF pritners for many reasons. And yes, profiles can be used interchangeably between the driver, plug-in, PS, LR, Mac and PC etc.

Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2014, 05:08:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Can't do that. The printer driver is incompatible with ACPU.
Just ACPU? You could print the target in say i1Profiler?
Yes that is the dumbest thing I've heard of in a long time. WTF is Canon thinking?
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2014, 05:13:06 PM »
ReplyReply

So can you print the target in Photoshop with the plug-in, then just use that profile in LR and elsewhere or has something's changed in the year's since I had a Canon to play with? I seem to recall I could use the profile in either location (that is, driver and plug-in). Of course, if you don't have Photoshop and hence the plug-in, that's kind of moot.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2014, 06:16:25 PM »
ReplyReply

Just ACPU?

And every other app that's not explicitly mentioned in the XML file.

You could print the target in say i1Profiler?


No, it's not supported either. I can't believe you haven't run into this before now!

Yes that is the dumbest thing I've heard of in a long time. WTF is Canon thinking?

They weren't. We've been providing this feedback for years but some boats are hard to turn around.

So can you print the target in Photoshop with the plug-in, then just use that profile in LR and elsewhere or has something's changed in the year's since I had a Canon to play with?

Nothing has changed. Profiles are fully interchangeable and the ACPU has never been supported.

I'm sure you get to use you're clients iPF printers. And you don't even need the the printer to play around with this. Simply install a dummy printer with the driver so you can goto the print dialog in ACPU and i1P, select the iPF printer and see all this for yourself. I often have 20+ printers installed on my computer even though I only have 3 printers in my own studio. Having all my clients printer's installed helps me support them when I'm not onsite.
Logged

Trinity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



WWW
« Reply #11 on: April 27, 2014, 09:14:44 AM »
ReplyReply

Well if you run the ACPU, pull in the tiff patch file, go to print (from the ACPU) - then within the printer driver -special settings - Application Colour Matching Priority off - then print - wouldn't that get you your printed page to send off?
Logged

Keith Gilson
ww.trinityframing.co.uk
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2014, 12:01:21 PM »
ReplyReply

Well if you run the ACPU, pull in the tiff patch file, go to print (from the ACPU) - then within the printer driver -special settings - Application Colour Matching Priority off - then print - wouldn't that get you your printed page to send off?

Special Settings? Application Colour Matching Priority off? These aren't things that appear anywhere in the Canon iPF printer driver. The option for turning color management on or off is under Main>ColorMode>No Color Management. If you don't see sections like "Main" "Page Setup" and "Utility" then you might be using a generic printer driver instead of the real Canon driver (which you need to use).

Logged

digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2014, 01:20:02 PM »
ReplyReply

No, it's not supported either. I can't believe you haven't run into this before now!
I've never tried in i1P since the Canon I had predated that and I used the Photoshop plug-in. That's what my customers have done too.
Quote
Nothing has changed. Profiles are fully interchangeable and the ACPU has never been supported.
Good, then the Photoshop Plug-in route is the way to go.
Quote
I'm sure you get to use you're clients iPF printers.
Did three last week, all printed from the Plug-in out of Photoshop.
Quote
And you don't even need the the printer to play around with this.
Canon sent me an IPF5000 years ago for some work, it's long gone. I'm an Epson user <g>. Plus I don't buy printers. Well I haven't in a very long time. That used Kodak XL-7700 I paid $10K for back in the early 90's made up for a lot of printer money! Grin
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Trinity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



WWW
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2014, 02:11:00 PM »
ReplyReply

You may have gathered  that I see the crescent, you see the whole of the moon.
My Canon image PROGRAF Printer Driver 2010 (for Windows 7) is version 4.31 - should I have downloaded something else? All the headings I mentioned are featured.

Roll on tomorrow when I can make a few calls.
Logged

Keith Gilson
ww.trinityframing.co.uk
Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #15 on: April 27, 2014, 06:06:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Did three last week, all printed from the Plug-in out of Photoshop.

That on-board calibration process is really cool isn't it? Complicated with the x400s with the different common and unique calibration options but it's great that we have such easy access to perfect consistency over time and across different printers.
Logged

Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #16 on: April 27, 2014, 06:30:37 PM »
ReplyReply

My Canon image PROGRAF Printer Driver 2010 (for Windows 7) is version 4.31 - should I have downloaded something else? All the headings I mentioned are featured.

That sounds like the right one. I didn't know you were on Windows! No XML hack needed then. Your "Tabs" then along the top of the printer driver should be "Main" "Page Setup" "Layout" "Favorites" and "Support". Under the "Main" tab you'll see "Color Mode" where you must select No Color Correction.

If this doesn't sound like what yore seeing, why don't you send us a screen grab?
Logged

Scott Martin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1311


WWW
« Reply #17 on: April 27, 2014, 06:33:40 PM »
ReplyReply

It's also worth mentioning that on the iPF printers, calibration and profiling are two different processes that must be done in concert. The printer has a special on-board calibration routine that linearizes the printer. This MUST be run prior to profiling. That way, over time you'll be able to repeat the calibration procedure to get back to the state the printer was in when it was profiled. All printers drift, and new print heads can print differently than old print heads so this calibration procedure allows for us to have perfectly consistent out year after year, even across print head replacements. It's an often overlooked feature on the iPF printers but it's important.
Logged

Trinity
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8



WWW
« Reply #18 on: April 28, 2014, 02:47:08 PM »
ReplyReply

Well here's what I get on the windows setup. No sign of colour mode, but under Layout there's special settings with an off / on toggle application colour matching priority.
Just didn't get the chance to ring the supplier today after all, tomorrow for definite, the suspense is driving me nuts.
Logged

Keith Gilson
ww.trinityframing.co.uk
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8929



WWW
« Reply #19 on: April 28, 2014, 02:51:23 PM »
ReplyReply

That on-board calibration process is really cool isn't it?
Dunno, the targets were sent to me. Didn't get to play with any of that stuff.
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad