Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Just read the entire owners manual for the GH4  (Read 1739 times)
kirktuck
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


WWW
« on: April 26, 2014, 11:10:01 AM »
ReplyReply

This is a highly configurable camera. I love that I can adjust the highlight and shadow curves. Now that I've finished reading I'm heading out to take some images. I've owned the GH3s for a while so I don't think (with the exception of video) that there are too many still photography changes to master...
Logged
langier
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 617



WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2014, 10:06:53 AM »
ReplyReply

Looks good so far, Kirk! Keep 'em coming from the VSL!
Logged

Larry Angier
ASMP, NAPP, ACT, and many more!

Webmaster, RANGE magazine
Editor emeritus, NorCal Quarterly

web--http://www.angier-fox.photoshelter.com
facebook--larry.angier
twitter--#larryangier
google+LarryAngier
Pete Berry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2014, 10:24:51 PM »
ReplyReply

I've read a bunch of it, but the camera lies in the future, unfortunately. A dead printer (iPF5100) and moribund HDTV have first call on the trust fund - the latter to be replaced with a 50"or so 4K TV. Any recommendations there in the sub-$2000 range?

It appears from the manual that Auto-ISO is now operative in manual mode, unlike the GH3. Have you checked this out?

Pete
Logged
wcwest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 39


« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2014, 05:05:22 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, auto iso is available in Manual mode. Also, when shutter speed and aperture are set in a Custom Mode they remain "sticky" when you return to that mode unlike the GH3.
Logged
Pete Berry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 267


« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2014, 11:54:36 AM »
ReplyReply

Yes, auto iso is available in Manual mode. Also, when shutter speed and aperture are set in a Custom Mode they remain "sticky" when you return to that mode unlike the GH3.

Thanks, nice! Is there any way to compensate exposure in Manual-Auto-ISO mode other than through the ISO button > fixed setting? If I were designing it, I'd link the EC button to ISO in Manual, so you could stay in Auto-ISO with offsets.

Pete
Logged
donbga
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 75


« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2014, 07:06:06 PM »
ReplyReply

Kirk,

How do stills of the GH3 & GH4 compare?

Thanks,

Don Bryant
Logged
vampire
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 96


« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2014, 06:48:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Settings, settings and more settings!
I am ALMOST, so lost. Having never used a Panasonic, this is going to take a lot of testing to figure out which option works best for different shooting situations. There are just so many options for each individual feature and each one affects other things. I don't mean this as a negative, it's just not a pick up and go camera that you will be 100% comfortable with, until you really learn how to use it. Unless you've shot with a previous GH camera, of course. Have you been able to shoot with AF at 96FPS in .mov? When I go into that setting the AF won't work. Also, anxiously waiting for Adobe to come up with the raw file conversion for still photos.

If anyone has some settings recommendations, please list them. :-)
Logged
kirktuck
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2014, 07:31:39 PM »
ReplyReply

The GH3 is a great camera but they could have done a better job with the EVF....so they did. The one on the GH4 is much, much better. The AF on the GH4 also feels a bit faster. I've shot a couple jobs with both and the Jpegs are better on the 4 but I'm waiting for decent Raw processing software to become available (come on Adobe...) before I compare raw files. The GH4 has a very, very solid feel.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad