Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: 5D and C mode  (Read 3391 times)
lester_wareham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


WWW
« on: August 26, 2005, 02:56:43 AM »
ReplyReply

Good point, for a lot of people that change CFs often this will very a life saver. What I wonder is why they did not add C1-C5 or something.
Logged
jd1566
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 149


« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2005, 07:06:03 AM »
ReplyReply

I had come to the same conclusion about the custom setting..
However to see if it really works one needs to know what camera settings are customisable, and what instead can only be set manually.  The Mirror lock-up should be easy to customise, but I am wondering about the timer button, whether this can also be set in the custom function..  

However a much simpler system would have been to have given the Print button (new) on the camera the function of mirror lockup with self timer 2 seconds.. So easy.. Or just add to the shooting mode another choice, 2 second + MLU..  Must camera manufactures be so difficult when giving us solutions?  

This just re-inforces the view that camera engineers must do gardening as a hobby instead of taking pictures with the machines they design... :-)
Logged

B&W photographer - Still lifes, Portraits, Urban scenes, Landscapes, Abstract images.
Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2005, 01:06:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
The 5D3 will come with a set of small green stickers to put on the C1 C2 C3 etc positions on the dial : a mountain, a flower, a skier, a clock, a human head, a racing car etc
Which brings it full circle to the Rebel XS auto modes...
Logged

lester_wareham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 116


WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2005, 03:48:03 AM »
ReplyReply

Mind you, the C mode just allows easy selection of the CF. What people realy need for MLU is a seperate button as in the old cameras that raises and lowers the mirror.

As first said, all they need to do is add a CF to map the functionality to another button - perhaps the SET button. This is just a firmware fix possible for all cameras - almost zero cost to Canon.
Logged
AJSJones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 353



« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2005, 11:45:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Amir M at FM observed that the C mode can "memorize" a set of "settings" supposedly including custom functions and timer modes, so it should allow you to easily get to a setting where MLU and timer (plus your favorite other params for MLU shooting) are switched on, and then off when you leave C mode.
How come Canon PR folks didn't realize they'd apparently dealt with a major grumble from users?Huh?
Logged
jani
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1604



WWW
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2005, 04:31:17 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Good point, for a lot of people that change CFs often this will very a life saver. What I wonder is why they did not add C1-C5 or something.
They're probably waiting with that until the 5D MkIII in 2010 or something. ::
Logged

Jan
AJSJones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 353



« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2005, 11:30:14 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Quote
Good point, for a lot of people that change CFs often this will very a life saver. What I wonder is why they did not add C1-C5 or something.
They're probably waiting with that until the 5D MkIII in 2010 or something. ::
The 5D3 will come with a set of small green stickers to put on the C1 C2 C3 etc positions on the dial : a mountain, a flower, a skier, a clock, a human head, a racing car etc
Logged
AJSJones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 353



« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2005, 05:18:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Quote
The 5D3 will come with a set of small green stickers to put on the C1 C2 C3 etc positions on the dial : a mountain, a flower, a skier, a clock, a human head, a racing car etc
Which brings it full circle to the Rebel XS auto modes...
...reinforcing my point that making MLU this accessible has probably been possible all along, even in the lowliest model, if only Canon had listened.  :p
Logged
AJSJones
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 353



« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2005, 03:14:02 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
As first said, all they need to do is add a CF to map the functionality to another button - perhaps the SET button. This is just a firmware fix possible for all cameras - almost zero cost to Canon.
Perhaps the "print" button?  I'm not sure I'd ever use it to print with...
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad