Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: LR 5.5 available and a bug  (Read 2702 times)
citro
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« on: June 18, 2014, 03:53:23 PM »
ReplyReply

LR 5.5 is available to download.

Now, the bug: I tried to setup a cropping aspect ratio of 1136 x 640 (iPhone 5 resolution). When I enter the custom aspect ratio, LR uses instead 16:9. Bug or am I missing smth ?
Logged
FranciscoDisilvestro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 558


WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2014, 05:07:30 PM »
ReplyReply

It seems that LR assign a close value if it exist already. 16:9 is 1.7777777:1 and 1136:640 is 1.775:1, very close for practical purposes.

Try setting up 1134:640 (it worked on mine) which is 1.771875, and then when you enter 1136:640 will take 11.34:6.4.
16:9 is actually closer to your desired ratio.

I would just use 16:9
Logged

phila
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 264



WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2014, 06:47:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Still only "preliminary" support for the G1X MkII.  Cry
Logged

Onslow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2014, 11:22:04 PM »
ReplyReply

Hmm, downloaded this morning and updated via the cloud helper application. Double click the icon..... Nothing. Open file location and select Open... Still nothing. So far, I am unable to run the program. Anyone else?
Win7 64.
Logged

Cheers

Onslow
sm906
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2014, 11:56:35 PM »
ReplyReply

Hmm, downloaded this morning and updated via the cloud helper application. Double click the icon..... Nothing. Open file location and select Open... Still nothing. So far, I am unable to run the program. Anyone else?
Win7 64.

Similar problem here (Win7 Pro 64bit). Have a look for LR now residing on your OS drive probably "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5.5".

My LR installation was still a manually installation however "registered" in the CC Updater, and residing on another drive and directory. After updating CC killed that installation and still puts it on C:\, whereas Photoshop CC and 2014 are installed on the drive and the directory set in the CC Updater. It's really annoying that Adobe still was not able (or should it be "is not interested at all") to fix this issue for LR after having released CC since a about year now.

Fortunately, I always make a ZIP archive of the entire LR installation before updating which let's me come back to the previous status quickly, when something goes wrong...

Thomas

« Last Edit: June 19, 2014, 12:10:30 AM by sm906 » Logged

nature - architecture - panorama - fine art
photo workshops and photo coaching
http://hintze-photo.com
Onslow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2014, 12:24:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Similar problem here (Win7 Pro 64bit). Have a look for LR now residing on your OS drive probably "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5.5".

My LR installation was still a manually installation however "registered" in the CC Updater, and residing on another drive and directory. After updating CC killed that installation and still puts it on C:\, whereas Photoshop CC and 2014 are installed on the drive and the directory set in the CC Updater. It's really annoying that Adobe still was not able (or should it be "is not interested at all") to fix this issue for LR after having released CC since a about year now.

Fortunately, I always make a ZIP archive of the entire LR installation before updating which let's me come back to the previous status quickly, when something goes wrong...

Thomas


Cheers for that Thomas.
I have just received this reply from the Lightroom forums.
https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1499624
Just trying it now. I'll report back either way...
Logged

Cheers

Onslow
aduke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 372


« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2014, 12:27:24 AM »
ReplyReply

I just updated to LR 5.5. This is not a CC installation. Everything seems to run fine.

Alan
Logged
sm906
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 114


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2014, 12:49:19 AM »
ReplyReply


Yep, that should do the trick; at least it did for me.

Thomas
Logged

nature - architecture - panorama - fine art
photo workshops and photo coaching
http://hintze-photo.com
FranciscoDisilvestro
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 558


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2014, 03:13:51 AM »
ReplyReply

Hi, just to report that I updated LR and PS CC 2014 from the CC dialogue without any issue on Windows 7/64
Logged

Onslow
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 100


« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2014, 03:15:23 AM »
ReplyReply

After much trouble, I finally got the workaround to take. Lucky I had backed up my preferences as well as they disappeared for some reason.
Logged

Cheers

Onslow
tongelsing
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 44


« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2014, 08:50:16 AM »
ReplyReply

LR5.5 installed and works fine.
But alas, no support for tethered shooting with a D4s yet.

Ton
Logged
Box Brownie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 184



WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2014, 04:29:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Is it just CC users that are suffering update issues or is it the perpetual license users like myself also seeing such issues???  Or OK to go ahead in install the 5.5 update? Smiley
Logged

A collection of mine here http://500px.com/engramphotography
elied
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2014, 04:46:12 PM »
ReplyReply

I had no problem - smooth as silk. Win 7 x64.
Logged

Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news
Lundberg02
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 143


« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2014, 05:06:13 PM »
ReplyReply

Np problem on MacOS 10.9.3
Logged
Slobodan Blagojevic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6180


When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.


WWW
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2014, 05:27:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Do not know if it is a bug or not, but it surely bugs me:

There are several functions where you place a (mouse) pointer over a tool slider and then execute an action. For instance, on Mac, "double click" results in zeroing the slider; "Shift + double click" = auto adjustment, etc. Worked rather well in the past. It seems that, after the latest update, LR is much more sensitive to the pointer (mouse) position, and it is almost impossible to execute a click or double click without first moving the slider a point or two. Now, every time I move a slider, it is recorded in history as two moves. Just plain annoying and cluttering the history states.
Logged

Slobodan

Flickr
500px
BartvanderWolf
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Posts: 3864


« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2014, 05:33:33 PM »
ReplyReply

Is it just CC users that are suffering update issues or is it the perpetual license users like myself also seeing such issues???  Or OK to go ahead in install the 5.5 update? Smiley

No problem updating the perpetual license version on Win 7, 64-bit.

Cheers,
Bart
« Last Edit: June 19, 2014, 05:35:35 PM by BartvanderWolf » Logged
Box Brownie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 184



WWW
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2014, 06:04:16 PM »
ReplyReply

No problem updating the perpetual license version on Win 7, 64-bit.

Cheers,
Bart

Hi Bart

Many thanks for the reply & insight Smiley  I also run W7 Pro, 64bit
Logged

A collection of mine here http://500px.com/engramphotography
digitaldog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9219



WWW
« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2014, 07:19:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Is it just CC users that are suffering update issues or is it the perpetual license users like myself also seeing such issues???  Or OK to go ahead in install the 5.5 update? Smiley
Seems it's CC users, at least the issue where after updating, you're told to "Please renew your membership" and you end up with a locked Develop module. Seems to have something to do with Application Support/Adobe/SL Store folder. Delete that entire folder.

I had no issues with CC 2014 or LR 5.5 expect that old "can't Edit In" (nothing happens). Had to reinstall CC 2014, now all is fine. Old issue with the order of applications installed (LR then CC 2014).
Logged

Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
rebadurchee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 22


« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2014, 08:06:27 PM »
ReplyReply

I have PS CC and LR perpetual license.  LR 5.5 installed just fine on my W7 64 system.  PS CC was only for ACR 8.5.  I haven't test driven LR 5.5 yet, though.
Logged
laughingbear
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 214


« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2014, 10:38:12 PM »
ReplyReply

Mavericks 9.3

Photoshop CC update, no problems. Lightroom update does not show in CC (yet?), from within LR I am told there is 5.5 available.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad