Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5 »   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Aperture RIP  (Read 19827 times)
Mosccol
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« on: June 27, 2014, 12:14:20 PM »
ReplyReply

Just picked this up:

http://www.loopinsight.com/2014/06/27/apple-stops-development-of-aperture/

Apple even apparently working with Adobe to transition customers

 Sad
Logged
DennisWilliams
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 49


« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 12:53:14 PM »
ReplyReply

Without a  formal upgrade path (Aperture 4)  there will be mass suicides.

'Now for something different'  is not acceptable.
Logged
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 01:06:15 PM »
ReplyReply

Sad day. Not that I expect in to make any difference, but I intend to send Apple a comment in opposition.
Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
peterpix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


WWW
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2014, 01:16:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Damn,I love Aperture!
Logged

Peter Randall
Chairman Bill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2014, 03:53:34 PM »
ReplyReply

Just picked this up:

http://www.loopinsight.com/2014/06/27/apple-stops-development-of-aperture/

Apple even apparently working with Adobe to transition customers

 Sad

I'm not 'transitioning' to some bleedin' Adobe rental scheme. Sod it, Capture One it might have to be
Logged

jjj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3541



WWW
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2014, 03:55:38 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not 'transitioning' to some bleedin' Adobe rental scheme. Sod it, Capture One it might have to be
Buy a copy of LR then, problem solved.
Logged

Tradition is the Backbone of the Spineless.   Futt Futt Futt Photography
dseelig
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 447


« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2014, 04:00:10 PM »
ReplyReply

Lightroom sucks
Logged
Robert Roaldi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 497


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2014, 04:05:11 PM »
ReplyReply

Buy a copy of LR then, problem solved.

I just went to the Adobe site and it wasn't obvious to me that you can buy it anymore, but I confess I didn't hunt around the pages very much. The easily arrived at pages only describe the subscription-Cloud model, which is of no interest to me.

I have not paid attention to what Adobe has been doing, so I'm confused. I'm running a 2006-era white iMac, which is hardware limited to only run Lion, I cannot upgrade past that OS version. Aperture 3.4 is fine for me. In fact, all I need right now is for Apple to implement raw support for my new Oly E-M10 and I'll be ok. But I'm a pessimist and will assume that at some point, I'll have to migrate away from Aperture.

Is there a version of Lightroom that I can buy (not rent) that runs on Lion? (I don't earn money from photography and am semi-retired and have no interest in subscriptions.) Is there a place on the Adobe site that explains the versions available and what they are compatible with?
Logged

--
Robert
robertroaldi.zenfolio.com
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2014, 04:59:26 PM »
ReplyReply

If you go to the bottom of http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop-lightroom.html, there’s a link to buy the standalone version.

« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 05:01:57 PM by RobSaecker » Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
Robert Roaldi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 497


WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2014, 05:03:25 PM »
ReplyReply

If you go to the bottom of http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop-lightroom.html, there’s a link to buy the standalone version.

Thank you. Sometimes I wonder about myself.
Logged

--
Robert
robertroaldi.zenfolio.com
James R
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 260


« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2014, 05:17:45 PM »
ReplyReply

I'm not 'transitioning' to some bleedin' Adobe rental scheme. Sod it, Capture One it might have to be

You don't have to "rent" LR5, you purchase just like Aperture.
Logged
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2014, 05:18:32 PM »
ReplyReply

Thank you. Sometimes I wonder about myself.

Smiley

Although it did take a little effort to find it, they don’t make it particularly easy.
Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
Misirlou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 657


WWW
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2014, 06:09:51 PM »
ReplyReply

"with the introduction of the new Photos app and iCloud Photo Library, enabling you to safely store all of your photos in iCloud and access them from anywhere, there will be no new development of Aperture. When Photos for OS X ships next year, users will be able to migrate their existing Aperture libraries to Photos for OS X.

Aperture on OS X Yosemite will support RAW v6, meaning new RAW support added to OS X will be available to Aperture users on Yosemite."

From an Apple spokesman, as published on DPR. The sky may not be falling as fast or as hard as you thought. Of course, if you have very old hardware that can't take the newer OS, you're not going to get Photos. But Aperture isn't suddenly going to stop working either, so you'll have time to plan a transition.
Logged
chrisgibbs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


WWW
« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2014, 07:14:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi guys,

I'm storing stills, AVCHD video and ambient audio in Aperture and have questions for the group.

Is there another DAM that can catalogue stills, video and audio?

I don't think Lightroom will catalogue & playback audio and I don't think CaptureOne will catalogue anything but a still?

Plus, I was looking toward the A7S, it shoots XAVC-S video, would Lightroom catalogue and display XAVC S?

Thanks,
Chris
Logged

ButchM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 185


« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2014, 08:33:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Hi guys,

I'm storing stills, AVCHD video and ambient audio in Aperture and have questions for the group.

Is there another DAM that can catalogue stills, video and audio?

I don't think Lightroom will catalogue & playback audio and I don't think CaptureOne will catalogue anything but a still?

Plus, I was looking toward the A7S, it shoots XAVC-S video, would Lightroom catalogue and display XAVC S?

Thanks,
Chris

Media Pro (formerly Expression Media/iView Media) by Phase One can catalog nearly every kind of digital media file that you can store on your computer. While I worked with Lightroom for 6 years and Aperture the past few ... I use Media Pro for my long-term Archive catalog. Been using it since it was iView way back in the day ...
Logged
ButchM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 185


« Reply #15 on: June 27, 2014, 08:40:13 PM »
ReplyReply


Apple even apparently working with Adobe to transition customers

 Sad

That is false ... Tech Crunch broke the story early and mistakenly reported that Apple was offering the transition work ...  other news outlets/blogs followed quoting the TC story ... TC later corrected their story, the following on outlets may have not corrected their reporting ... Adobe is working on a transition method for Aperture users NOT Apple.

The following is the corrected version on Tech Crunch:

"Adobe says that it will ‘double down’ on Lightroom support and offer Apple users a way to migrate:"

http://techcrunch.com/2014/06/27/apple-to-cease-development-of-aperture-and-transition-users-to-photos-for-os-x/
Logged
Telecaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 869



« Reply #16 on: June 27, 2014, 08:49:51 PM »
ReplyReply

Apple is phasing out Aperture and introducing Photos. Why do folks assume this means a loss of capability? It's just a move made with iCloud in mind.

-Dave-
Logged
RobSaecker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #17 on: June 27, 2014, 10:10:43 PM »
ReplyReply

Apple is phasing out Aperture and introducing Photos. Why do folks assume this means a loss of capability? It's just a move made with iCloud in mind.

Because the average user doesn’t need or want all the features of Aperture, so wouldn’t make any sense for Apple to subject them to all that complexity. I mean, I’ve talked to people who found iPhoto too complicated, so they just kept all their photos in folders and used the Finder and Preview to look at them. Imagine how they’d react to something like Aperture.

And besides, Apple gave a preview of Photos at WWDC, and it’s an iPhoto replacement, not an Aperture replacement.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 10:13:33 PM by RobSaecker » Logged

Rob
photo blog - http://robsaecker.com
jwstl
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 83


« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2014, 12:55:45 AM »
ReplyReply

Because the average user doesn’t need or want all the features of Aperture, so wouldn’t make any sense for Apple to subject them to all that complexity. I mean, I’ve talked to people who found iPhoto too complicated, so they just kept all their photos in folders and used the Finder and Preview to look at them. Imagine how they’d react to something like Aperture.

And besides, Apple gave a preview of Photos at WWDC, and it’s an iPhoto replacement, not an Aperture replacement.

It certainly doesn't look that way. If you look at the Photos app screenshot you'll notice a number of tools on the right that look like they came from Aperture...there's a histogram, exposure/highlights/brightness and other sliders. http://www.macworld.com/article/2375212/apple-retires-aperture-and-iphoto-to-be-replaced-with-photos-for-os-x.html
Logged
Mosccol
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 74


« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2014, 06:31:15 AM »
ReplyReply

Is there a version of Lightroom that I can buy (not rent) that runs on Lion? (I don't earn money from photography and am semi-retired and have no interest in subscriptions.) Is there a place on the Adobe site that explains the versions available and what they are compatible with?

I gave a family member with a RAM limited MacBook my disk copy of version 3 of Lightroom ad it works well. I don't think the OS is an issue but RAM and speed can be.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5 »   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad