Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: D70 Raw  (Read 3709 times)
Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« on: September 29, 2005, 09:28:47 PM »
ReplyReply

I've just downloaded some raw images shot with D70 and tried to open them in Photo shop cs2 raw converter without success what could be the problem as this is only a problem with the d70 raw.
Logged
bob mccarthy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 372


WWW
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2005, 09:55:51 PM »
ReplyReply

What is the problem specifically? CS2 certainly works fine with the D70 raw.

I'll guess!

If when you launch a d70 file in bridge, the Nikon Raw converter launches not the Adobe one.

If so, remove the Nikon raw converter (a plugin) from CS2 (or lead the file name with a ~ (tilde). If you install any nikon app it automatically installs the Nikon Raw converter in Photoshop. Easy to disarm.

Bob
Logged
Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2005, 11:42:37 PM »
ReplyReply

I get an error message saying could not complete your request because its no the right kind of document.
Don't I need the raw converter to convert from raw to tiff?
Logged
Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2005, 11:52:26 PM »
ReplyReply

You do not need the Nikon plugin for anything; Camera RAW can process Nikon RAW files perfectly well without any Nikon software installed on your machine at all.
Logged

Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2005, 06:37:45 PM »
ReplyReply

How do I go about disarming this Nikon plug in. I did'nt know there was a plugin installed. Why would this be stopping CS2 from opening raw files?
Thanks for your help
Logged
Jamal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2005, 08:39:39 PM »
ReplyReply

"Nikon NEF Plugin LE.8bi"

Search for this file in your Photoshop folders and move it somewhere else while you see if it works, it should.  I use Elements or I would tell you exactly where it is (I know from reading somewhere that it is well-hidden but in a plug-ins folder nonetheless).  Make sure you have the latest Camera Raw.8bi file in the folder you remove it from.  I don't know why it prevents CS2 from opening raw files, but it does.
Logged
Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2005, 06:49:24 PM »
ReplyReply

Found that plugin in program files nikon picture project. Cut and pasted it to another drive tried to open raw files in cs2 but same error message came up. I then place the plugin back. Seems to be a problem with the D70s raw files?
Logged
Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2005, 10:03:31 PM »
ReplyReply

The one you need to get rid of in in your Photoshop plugins folder somewhere. The one in Nikon Picture is totally irrelevant.
Logged

bob mccarthy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 372


WWW
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2005, 11:08:24 PM »
ReplyReply

The one that needs to be revised is in

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats

or something close. I'm on my home laptop so your subject to the wims of my memory,

just delete it, you can always copy a new onefrom PP.

Bob
Logged
bob mccarthy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 372


WWW
« Reply #9 on: October 04, 2005, 11:11:05 PM »
ReplyReply

The one that needs to be removed is in

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CS2\File Formats

or something close. I'm on my home laptop so your subject to the wims of my memory,

just delete it, you can always copy a new onefrom PP.

Bob
Logged
Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2005, 04:26:17 AM »
ReplyReply

I did cut and relocate it to another drive with no success in opening a raw file. Is it necessary to delete it to have an effect?
Logged
Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2005, 07:08:21 AM »
ReplyReply

Found it and moved it to another drive,unfortunately I still can't open a D70 RAW file any other suggestions?
Thanks
Logged
poliwog
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 43


« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2005, 08:04:31 AM »
ReplyReply

Do you have a D70 or a D70s? If the latter, you will need to DL an update to Camera Raw from the Adobe site.
Logged
BobMcCarthy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 201


« Reply #13 on: October 05, 2005, 02:50:17 PM »
ReplyReply

I just updated Capture and it installed a plugin at

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS2\Plug-Ins\Adobe Photoshop Only\File Formats

which also temporarily broke CS2.

Apparently, it now requires this one to be removed ALSO.

Do use the latest camera raw.

Bob
Logged
Baz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 11


« Reply #14 on: October 06, 2005, 01:25:29 AM »
ReplyReply

I've just successfully opened a D70s RAW file in photoshop cs2 by downloading the latest raw update 3.1 from the Adobe web site. I didn't realise the was a difference between the D70 and the D70s Raw. Hope this thread helps someone else as well. Thanks everyone for your help.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad