Ad
Ad
Ad
Pages: [1]   Bottom of Page
Print
Author Topic: Problem with discussion forum  (Read 5885 times)
abaazov
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 173



WWW
« on: November 16, 2005, 04:35:42 PM »
ReplyReply

i've been having a weird problem lately, and i am curious as to whether it is just me or if others are experiencing it too. every so often on this website i can't seem to get into any of the forum pages. clicking on the links sends me to a page that says "what am i doing here?". has anyone else been having this problem? the crazy thing is, i have two computers, and i put them both on, and on one i can access all the pages, and the other i can't. it is not computer-sensitive, as it happens on both computers, one day one shows the links, the next day the other, and so on alternating. very weird. anybody have any clue what is going on?

amnon
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2005, 06:19:57 PM »
ReplyReply

Yes, exactly my problem.

If I access from my home pc (cable modem - I assume a static IP) I get the Nov 10 page, and accessing the discussion group I get a blank screen.  Using the new board URL I get the "what am I doing here" screen.

I've cleaned out all the cookies and temporary internet files (several times) even installed a new browser (firefox) still the same problem.

I'm access this now from a vpn connection into my network at work.  I can access from work fine.  

and I can also access from my home pc directly if I activate an IP spoofing utility to hide my IP.

So it seems that our IP's have been banned.

I sent a PM to Neil this AM (Superadmin, along with MR?) but no response yet.

Glad I'm not the only one with this problem.
Logged
neil
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8923



WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2005, 07:02:18 PM »
ReplyReply

We're looking into it.  Seems there was a slight error in the new DNS setup.  Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Logged

Kenneth Sky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 421


WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2005, 07:03:35 AM »
ReplyReply

I used to be able to access this forum from my home on a Mac (G4) till the recent switch. Now I get a blank page with a url address of "ikonboard". I tried deleting LL from my Favourites and starting over but still get cycled through a problem page to the blank site which I believe is the old service provider. No problems with my several PCs at home anf the office. Helllppp!! :
Logged
Kenneth Sky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 421


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2005, 07:12:55 AM »
ReplyReply

I'm afraid I started a new thread when actually it belongs on this one. Sorry.
Logged
Chris Sanderson
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1920



« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2005, 10:47:01 AM »
ReplyReply

Indeed, any  bookmark or History cache or password saved that auto loads an address & login to directly access the Forum may well be broken.  It should be changed to <http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/>

Once here as a guest, log in and if prompted, save or overwrite the password for this site's forum.

If you are not using a Bookmark, you are likely still being referred by an out-of-date vestige of the old site. Not much to do but wait for the Internet to catch up with us. Various problems such as yours are still being reported. [EDIT: The minor DNS setup problem referred to by Neil elsewhere has now been fixed.] The old server will be coming down within a few days.

Chris S
« Last Edit: November 17, 2005, 12:25:23 PM by Chrissand » Logged

Christopher Sanderson
The Luminous-Landscape
Kenneth Sky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 421


WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2005, 12:21:55 PM »
ReplyReply

Quote
Indeed, any  bookmark or History cache or password saved that auto loads an address & login to directly access the Forum may well be broken.  It should be changed to <http://www.luminous-landscape.com/forum/>

Once here as a guest, log in and if prompted, save or overwrite the password for this site's forum.

If you are not using a Bookmark, you are likely still being referred by an out-of-date vestige of the old site. Not much to do but wait for the Internet to catch up with us. Various problems such as yours are still being reported. The old server will be coming down within a few days.

Chris S
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=51516\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Thanks, I'll try when I get home. By the way, I OK using a PC at my second office as well. Weirder & weider!
Ken
Logged
Jonathan Wienke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5759



WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2005, 03:58:07 PM »
ReplyReply

It's simply the normal delay in the DNS severs being updated with the IP address of the new server. Some ISPs take longer to update their data than others, so you can have a situation where luminous-landscape.com resolves to the new server when using one connection but to the old server on a different connection from another ISP. To further complicate things, for a while luminous-landscape.com and www.luminous-landscape.com were not pointing to the same IP address, so clicking a link on the new server could take you to a non-existent page on the old server. That's why you could see the main page of the forums, but clicking on any category caused a 404.
Logged

neil
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8923



WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2005, 09:46:00 PM »
ReplyReply

When our DNS was initially transfered a small error made the record not quite technally 'perfect' that error should be corrected as of 11/16/05.  

If you are still having trouble please continue to describe the problem and we'll see if we can resolve it, but all the technical scan's I've made are showing we're configured correctly.
Logged

Dale_Cotton
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 580


WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2005, 06:25:57 AM »
ReplyReply

Quote
all the technical scan's I've made are showing we're configured correctly.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=51681\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I was having the same problem - seeing the new server at work but not at home - but as of Nov 18 AM I'm seeing the new server at both locations.
Logged
Tim Gray
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2002



WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2005, 06:52:20 AM »
ReplyReply

my problem solved as well.  thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Top of Page
Print
Jump to:  

Ad
Ad
Ad